Academics‎ > ‎

Instructional Services

Two CHCCS students collaborate in class
The Instructional Services Division (ISD) supports teaching and learning in Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools. Curriculum coordinators and directors work with classroom teachers, school staff and administrators to write curriculum, design formative assessments and support student understanding. 

Have a question or a comment for us? You can find members of ISD listed by role in our Instructional Services Directory.

Meet the ISD Team

Rydell Harrison
Rydell Harrison, Assistant Superintendent for Instructional Services
rharrison@chccs.k12.nc.us
@RydellEdleader
Alicia Tate
Alicia Tate, Senior Executive Director, EC and System of Care
atate@chccs.k12.nc.us
Darlene Ryan
Darlene Ryan, Executive Director, Elementary Schools & Special Programs
dryan@chccs.k12.nc.us
Phillip Holmes
Philip Holmes, Executive Director, Professional Learning & Talent Development
pholmes@chccs.k12.nc.us
@PhilHolmesK12Ed
Laverne Mattocks - No Photo Available
Laverne Mattocks, Executive Director Of Secondary Schools & Student Services
lmattocks@chccs.k12.nc.us
Diane Villwock
Diane Villwock, Executive Director of the Office of Assessment & Research
dvillwock@chccs.k12.nc.us
Misti Williams
Misti Williams, Executive Director, Leadership & Federal Programs
mwwilliams@chccs.k12.nc.us
Helen Atkins
Helen Atkins, ESL/ELL Coordinator
hatkins@chccs.k12.nc.us
Debby Atwater
Debby Atwater, Digital Learning & Media Services Director
datwater@chccs.k12.nc.us
@debbyatwater
Kathi Breweur
Kathi Breweur, Career and Technical Education Director
kbreweur@chccs.k12.nc.us
Camille House
Camille House, Gifted/STEM Education Coordinator
chouse@chccs.k12.nc.us
Linda Joseph
Linda Joseph, Nursing Coordinator
ljoseph@chccs.k12.nc.us
Sheldon Lanier
Sheldon Lanier, Equity Leadership and AVID Director
slanier@chccs.k12.nc.us
LuAnn Malik
LuAnn Malik, Math Coordinator (K-12)
lmalik@chccs.k12.nc.us
Rosyln Moffitt
Rosyln Moffitt, Director, Title I & Family and Community Engagement
rmoffitt@chccs.k12.nc.us
Kerry Moore
Kerry Moore, Pre-K/Head Start Director
kmoore@chccs.k12.nc.us
Spencer Register
Spencer Register, Exceptional Children Assistant Director
sregister@chccs.k12.nc.us
Alisha Schiltz
Alisha Schiltz, Coordinator, MTSS
aschiltz@chccs.k12.nc.us
Christy Stanley
Christy Stanley, Director Of Secondary Instruction
cstanley@chccs.k12.nc.us
@Christychccs
Scarlett Steinert
Scarlett Steinert, Healthy Living and Athletics Director
ssteinert@chccs.k12.nc.us
Elaine Watson-Grant
Elaine Watson-Grant, Director of Elementary Instruction
ewatson-grant@chccs.k12.nc.us
Brenda Whiteman
Brenda Whiteman, Arts Coordinator (K-12)
bwhiteman@chccs.k12.nc.us
Thea Wilson
Thea Wilson, Pre-School Disabilities Coordinator
twilson@chccs.k12.nc.us


Instructional Programs and Services

Academic Support Programs - Learn about our academic support programs like Exceptional Children, Gifted Education, Pre-K, AVID, Instructional Technology, Dual Language, and more.

Course List - View current courses offered in Middle and High School.
 
Curriculum - ISD leads efforts to help teachers and administrators to create standards-aligned curriculum for our students. Find out more about how we design curriculum at CHCCS.

Service Learning - CHCCS high school students must complete service hours in order to graduate. ISD coordinates the service learning program in our secondary schools.

Office of Assessment & Research - The Office of Assessment & Research administers all state and district tests and assessments, approves the district’s participation in research studies and conducts evaluations of CHCCS programming.


Questions? - Visit our FAQ for answers to some common questions about academics in the CHCCS district.